Our Communities

The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development (TNECD) offers the “Retire Tennessee” program, which promotes Tennessee as an ideal place for retirees to call home.

The Retire Tennessee program consists of 16 rural and urban communities across the state. Each community meets the state's criteria of providing the resources and amenities needed to be a viable retirement destination. Take a look at each community and you are sure to find one that you can call home.  

The AARC (American Association of Retirement Communities) Seal of Approval program was established to recognize communities and master-planned developments that possess the resources and amenities to attract today's relocating retiree.

Which TN community is perfect for you? Please select your interests.
Woohoo, we found these counties
that fit with your interests.
select the community name to learn more

Select a Retire Tennessee Community

Click on a community in the map or the community listing below to learn more about what makes it uniquely TN.

West Tennessee

Warm and welcoming small towns—plus a few larger ones along the Mississippi River—punctuate the stories of West Tennessee’s legendary music, dramatic history and natural wonders.

West Tennessee’s boundaries are the Mississippi River to the west and the Tennessee River to the east. Memphis is the region’s largest city, and Northwest Tennessee’s Kentucky Lake is the largest man-made lake in the eastern U.S.

Savannah - Hardin County 1
Savannah - Hardin Countyaarc (Savannah, Pickwick, Shiloh)

Middle Tennessee

The friendly heartland of Middle Tennessee is home to Music City, the Cumberland River and grand antebellum homes.

Middle Tennessee is characterized by rolling hills and fertile stream valleys. Geographically, it encompasses the Nashville Basin, the dramatic Highland Rim landscape and the western portion of the Cumberland Plateau.

Columbia - Maury County 3
Columbia - Maury County (Columbia, Mount Pleasant, Spring Hill)
Springfield - Robertson County 4
Springfield - Robertson County (Springfield, White House)
Winchester - Franklin County 5
Winchester - Franklin Countyaarc (Winchester, Cowan, Decherd, Village of Sewanee)
McMinnville - Warren County 6
Cookeville - Putnam County 8
Cookeville - Putnam Countyaarc (Cookeville, Algood, Baxter, Monterey)

East Tennessee

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Appalachian arts and crafts, and bluegrass are part of East Tennessee’s celebration of culture and heritage.

Many of the loftiest peaks in the eastern U.S. lie in East Tennessee. Clingman's Dome is the highest peak, while Chattanooga is nestled in a mountain valley.

Dayton - Rhea County 11
Dayton - Rhea County (Dayton, Graysville, Spring City)
Harriman, Kingston - Roane County 12
Harriman, Kingston - Roane County (Oak Ridge, Rockwood, Oliver Springs)
Lenoir City - Loudon County 13
Lenoir City - Loudon County (Lenoir City, Loudon)
Dandridge - Jefferson County 14
Dandridge - Jefferson County (Dandridge, Jefferson City)
Morristown - Hamblen County 15
Bristol, Kingsport - Sullivan County 16